407231_312214305484204_258728120832823_880131_802550908_n

The Simplest and Most Ridiculous Things my ASD Child Ever Had a Meltdown Over was…

  1. Because we were out of string cheese.
  2. Somebody commented on how cute his boots looked on him. :)
  3. Because I put 7 marshmellows instead of 6 in his hot chocolate drink.
  4. He had 3 twizzlers and not 5. He has a thing about everything being 5.
  5. Because he missed the first minute of his daily Rosary on TV.
  6. Because school was closed.
  7.  His straw was bent so he screamed and banged his head for twenty minutes.
  8. Because the items in the store had been moved around and the displays. changed.
  9. Because her clothes had seams on them.
  10. Because we walked or drove another way.
  11. I couldn’t find his favorite pair of pajama bottoms.
  12. Because the school bus was late in picking him up.
  13. Because his favourite toy’s battery went dead.
  14. Moving one of his lined up toys by an inch.
  15. Switching the TV channel for a brief moment.
  16.  A stranger said hello to him!! He screams when people say hello to him!
  17. I put the boxes of pasta on the shelf wrong
  18. Because his brother won’t make Mario jump off the cliff when he’s playing video games.
  19. The wrong weather in the wrong season, one of “his” rules being broken.
  20. Not filling his cup to a certain line.
  21. Wanting to do yoga at 6 in the morning.
  22. When I cut his waffles into too many pieces.
  23. Me passing a car on the highway.
  24. Because I won’t let him take his dinosaur pajamas out of the dirty laundry and wear them to school.
  25. Had a major meltdown in kindergarden when the teacher gave her green blocks for a math projects….she HATED green – and proceeded to throw the blocks at the teacher…twice.
  26. GLITTER – if she ever gets glitter on her skin/hands/hair…you would think it was acid melting her skin.  Very bad scene at Disney when the fairy god mother showered her with “pixie dust” (i.e. glitter).  screaming and scrubbing for 45 minutes in the park…that was fun.
  27. We cannot forget when my son was in tears when my daughter and his friend “fired” him from their imaginary resturant.An old balloon that had been grounded for days finally completely ran out of air. It wasn’t even his balloon to begin with.
  28. He and his brother, both with Aspergers and one year apart, were fighting with invisible swords and his brother “STOLE MY SWORD!!!” Again, these were invisible swords.

Feel free to visit our faceboook page at: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Single-Mothers-who-have-Children-with-Autism/258728120832823?ref=tn_tnmn

19 Comments

  1. I got one…

    27. He threw his popcorn on the floor of the minivan (and out of his reach) for no reason and then 30 seconds later had a meltdown because he was hungry and out of popcorn…

  2. rachel

    i cant cut or break anything in half or he will meltdown hard and bite down hard on me, no sharing a cheese burger and defanatly NO CUTTING THE ICE-BLOCK IN HALF, he wont even eat it if you do.

  3. Jennifer

    28. because the entire world doesn’t have wireless internet access.

  4. Number 26. ROFL! I’ve seen emotions spill over because toy saws don’t cut, toy drills don’t drill, and you can’t nail real wood with a toy hammer. But “my brother stole my (imaginary) sword” is a new one.

    Here’s my #28: Because my wife or I dare to turn the volume down from 100% to 50%, because at 50% we can hear it from the other end of the house but it doesn’t overpower everything else.

  5. Mine would cry on the mornings when BCC Algebra didn’t come on PBS at 5am when he was nursing. Maybe that was an early sign? LOL but general weirdness runs on both sides of this family…

  6. Kristen

    Well as an Adult with aspergers im not the least bit embarassed by the fact that im going to tell all you parents its not going to go away it will get muted alot but they will still find things Annoying that apparently people arent suppose to get worked up over. the closest thing to a childs meltdown i had was last night…playing a video game my character got frozen due to a glitch in the game and i almost missed the big reward of killing one of the bosses. so yeah i screamed and yelled at it and was pushing every button on the controller.

  7. tylers mom

    I have one too.
    My 4 year old son has a meltdown anytime he eats tacos and the shell breaks…. I mean full on 45 min meltdown cause “ohhh its all your fault! My TAYCO broked”

  8. Owen's Mama

    Swimming lessons changing locations in the pool area from one session to another.

  9. Amy T.

    My kids have fights about invisible things, too!!! They “take pieces from eachother”. Basically, they run up, pretend to pull something off the other & RUN. The one who’s left usually ends up in TEARS sobbing, “he took my piece!!!”. So glad we’re not alone!

  10. Kristin

    My son has several to do with bedtime and sleeping. He had a major one the other night because he didn’t want the light off when he was falling asleep so we left it on. Finally, when we thought he was asleep, we turned it off. He woke up out of a dead sleep four times to turn the light back on and scream at us. He also has had meltdowns over not wanting to sleep on a flannel pillowcase, having his socks and shoes removed when he has fallen asleep, and turning his movie off after he has fallen asleep! We try not to awaken the angry monster in him, but he can go from being sound asleep to awake and raging mad in a matter of seconds!

  11. D'Anne

    My 3yr old let go of a balloon & a man ran ahead,jumped up,grabbed it & gave it back to him! The man thought he was a hero….my son started screaming immeadiatly. He liked to let balloons go! This was @ Disneyworld when we were getting on the bus back to our hotel. He was in a rage all the way back.All we could say was “He’s having a bad day”

  12. Anna aspie

    As an 21 aspie, I can also tell you that its not the little things that we have a meltdown over, its more like that is the last straw. We have in our head things go a certain way, we are very rigid in our thinking and when they don’t go as planned its brain overload and we get a meltdown. Its not our faults there not stupid reasons its like trying to stop someone peeing when they need to pee our body is going to make it happen. I found learning how to prevent them works well, have things in place and explaining way ahead if there is going to be a change in the day/routine. I have to eat 3 times a day properly otherwise I will forget to eat and that will make me cranky and feel faint when I’m out it can bring on a meltdown. Lack of sleep and hunger bring on meltdowns. I can cope better with sensory overloading places like shops when I’m well fed and rested and have earphones as backup to block out noise.

  13. Mine…the loops on his shoe laces were not of equal size…We now only buy slip-ons

  14. Theresa

    LOVE THE LIST and comments…My daughter is 9 and Aspergers/ASD…She has several little (and big quirks). We have learned to embrace them and accept them – it is part of who she is – I love what makes her different – although it does try my patience…

    I have a couple GOOD ones to add…
    1. Had a major meltdown in kindergarden when the teacher gave her green blocks for a math projects….she HATED green – and proceeded to throw the blocks at the teacher…twice.
    2. GLITTER – if she ever gets glitter on her skin/hands/hair…you would think it was acid melting her skin. Very bad scene at Disney when the fairy god mother showered her with “pixie dust” (i.e. glitter). screaming and scrubbing for 45 minutes in the park…that was fun.
    3. Oh and we cannot forget when my son was in tears when my daughter and his friend “fired” him from their imaginary resturant.

  15. Kacie

    Mine has had many. the oddest was when he wanted me to draw a picture of Batman. I am no artist, so Batman was far from perfect and not even. Although my son thought he should be and that I did it on purpose. Almost a whole hour over why I was such a bad mom for not drawing Batman right. Only for him to turn around, draw Batman and tell me that “This is how it’s supposed to look. Do it again?”

  16. lauren

    My 3 yo freaks if i put his milk in the wrong cup, i have to hold books with both hands when we read, and he is the official door closer and light switch flipper in our house, and heaven forbid we disagree with his decisions.

  17. Kelli

    When I switched from Unleaded gasoline to Regular. Complete tantrum!

  18. My little boy hates to be called cute, tells his sister her love hurts when she tries to hug him and will only drink out of the cowboy cup and he’s the one the school won’t test for anything other than speech. He’s 3 and they want to wait until before he goes to Kindergarten. My David has melt downs over tags, not having chocolate for his milk or worse we run out of milk, the lights have to stay on while he sleeps the bathroom light stays on all day and night. His socks have to be black but at least he doesn’t leave them on in the bath tub any more. I’m sure there is more but I’ll save those for another day.

  19. I remember when i spent days painting dinosaurs on my sons room.. then he had a meltdown because the plants I lovingly added where from the wrong period!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

