A Poem written by Susan Logan

Here I am locked inside my own little world,

You think I don’t listen to you but I hear every word.

Sometimes I get frustrated because you don’t understand

It’s not my fault it’s the way I am!

I wish I could say what I want to say

But I’m autistic so that kinda gets in the way.

For those who don’t know me

They probably think I’m out of control

If only they could play my role!

I know I’m not on my own

There are lots of others who feel the same

A constant battle; a losing game.

Two steps forward about a hundred back

Will I ever get the normal life that I lack?

Family and friends try their best

But they are exhausted and

In desperate need of a rest.

Just for someone to find the key

To unlock the missing piece hidden deep within me.

Leave a Reply

